SAY IT AIN'T SO: The Maui Celebrity Series ends it's run at The Maui Theatre (@MauiTheatre)

The Maui Celebrity Series ends it's run at The Maui Theatre

 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - William Shatner, Roseanne Barr, David Spade, Nick Swardson, Hal Sparks, Mos Def, Tom Arnold, Citizen Cope, Tom Green, Rob Schneider, Mick Fleetwood, and Brian Evans.
 
The shows rolled into Lahaina over 2010, and ended this past Saturday night with prolific singer/songwriter Citizen Cope.
 
"The Maui Celebrity Series had a great run. It gave us the opportunity to give local comedians and musicians the chance to open for national acts for their own resume as the progress in their own paths, we allowed the Lahaina side to experience something different, and we all had a great time," says series creator Brian Evans.
 
"In the end, I'm not a promoter. I am a singer. This was a fun thing to do, but to be honest, I really didn't know what I was doing half the time. I was driven by having fun," he says. "I'm glad to have ended the series on the high note of the successful Citizen Cope concert that we had this past Saturday night."
 
Evans is working on his major label debut under multiple Grammy Award winning producer Narada Michael Walden, among other projects he is working on.
 
"This was fun, but I need to continue on my own path and where my goals truly are," says Evans. "I will always love Maui and intend on maintaining my residence here and enjoying and tasting the islands throughout my life. I just knew it was time to end it when we were beginning to develop a TV show around it. It occurred to me that I was losing my focus on what I really do for a living."
 
Evans says The Maui Celebrity Series may pop up on occasion at various venues on island, including The Maui Theatre, but has no plans at this point to continue the series forward. He has canceled remaining shows scheduled for 2011 due to his other career responsibilities.
 
"I'm shooting a music video in August, so I can't really be on Maui promoting an Andrew Dice Clay concert, and it's not my thing beyond what I do on occasion for fun and to give local talent a shot. I think everyone knows that our intentions were good, and on we go to the next chapter," Evans concludes. "I have a tremendous amount of respect for promoters that I didn't even know about before, how hard this is to put people in those seats."
 
A special video montage will be placed at The Maui Celebrity Series (.com) in coming weeks, celebrating the shows that occurred there.